Wet ‘n Wild Megalast Lipsticks

Written by B

I feel it is important for y’all to know that I love lip color.  It is the one type of makeup that I have the most of.  Some beauty enthusiasts collect eye shadow, some collect face products.  For me it has always been the lips, the weirder the better.

I find myself to be strange and unusual, so I like my lip colors to be the same.  This habit however, can be expensive.  As such, when I want to try a new shade, I tend to go for a cheap brand that has color options.  That way, if I really like the color, I can save my money and find a high end alternative.

Sometimes, though, the brand can surprise me and the cheap lipstick can be a winner.  This is the case with the Wet n Wild Megalast Lipsticks. I grabbed some at my local Walgreens for $2.29, although on the website they retail for $1.99.  I got 3 colors:

918D – Cherry Bomb
A dark red

image

965 – Cherry Picking
A bright cool toned red, almost pink.

image

916B – Vamp it Up
A dark plummy purple

image

Here is what Wet n Wild’s website says about them:
This is basically our Magnum Opus of lipstick—it’s the one thing we absolutely MUST put on when we’ve got a cocktail party or black tie event. This 4-hour, longwearing lip color leaves a semi-matte cream finish in one stroke. Glides on easily with rich, velvety color that doesn’t cake, feather, or bleed. Made with hydrating skin-care ingredients: Hyaluronic Microspheres provide extraordinary adhesion to lips, an exclusive polymer complex offers cushion-like feel and texture, and natural marine plant extracts coenzyme Q10 and vitamins A & E help smooth lips.”

I found them to be an excellent value given their price.  Are they perfect? No, but that is not saying they aren’t good.  The darker colors definitely need a lip liner underneath to make the color more even on my lips, as you can see with the last picture, it’s patchy because I didn’t use one.

They’re a bit difficult to apply, there is a waxy texture to them, but once they’re on they stay on pretty well.  Yes, they do transfer, but I’ve eaten two whole meals with only having to reapply once.   I’d confirm the 4 Hour wear and bump that up to a 5 or 6 for me, depending on what I’m doing.

I’d buy these again, and if there’s a B1G1 50% off sale on Wet n Wild at Walgreens (as they tend to do) I probably will.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

