Hiding Acne Redness

Written by J

Let’s face facts, guys….everyone gets acne. Just because you don’t see it doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. As Sanders Kennedy points out in this video, humans just don’t have natural filters. You can ALWAYS see the bumps. However, there are ways to at least get rid of the redness that comes with those pesky pustules! Here are my steps for getting a less-red face.

1. PRIME
I use the Benefit POREfessional primer, especially on the front part of my face. Tapping it in helps fill in those fine lines and pores.

2. COLOR CORRECT
Color correcting is KEY in getting rid of redness. I use the Wet N’ Wild Coverall Correcting Palette. With a fine brush (an extra lip brush I have laying around), I apply the GREEN on every pimple or redness spot. Apply it heavier than you think you need to, because then you will buff it in with a beauty sponge. Be prepared for some of it to come off!

3. CONCEAL
Once the correcter is blended, I then go in with my Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in FAIR and cover wherever I’ve put green. This is also when I go in on my undereye.

4. FOUNDATION
After waiting a few seconds for the concealer to dry down, go about your normal foundation routine.

5. CONCEAL AGAIN
Yep, that’s right, go back in with your concealer over those spots, then buff it in with a beauty sponge. I like to tap mine in–or, as some beauty Youtubers say, beat my face.

6. SET
Set your face as normal, but put a little bit extra on those bumps. I like to use the Ben Nye Neutral Set powder, but this might leave a white cast if you are darker than I am (which, let’s face it, I’m a ghost….) This will help the coverage stay put. Let it sit for a minute or so, then brush off the excess. (This is called baking….but that just makes me hungry.)

7. Finish the rest of your makeup. Don’t forget your setting spray!

As you can see here, my little bumps are still visible, but at least the massive redness that comes with them has been tamed. (Please forgive my crappy iPhone camera.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

